Magisterial District Courts

Due to a fire in the building of 
magisterial district court 13-3-02, 
417 east roy furman highway, waynesburg, pa, 
that office will be closed until further notice.  


the office has relocated to the
greene county courthouse
courtroom 3 (third floor)
10 east high street, Waynesburg, pa

telephone number for mdj 13-3-02 will remain the same (724-852-1440)

In Greene County, there are three magisterial districts strategically located throughout the County. Each district is served by an elected Magisterial District Judge who serves a six-year term. The Magisterial District Judges are regulated by the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania and the office of District Court Administration. 

Criminal cases heard by Magisterial District Courts include summary offenses, preliminary hearings,  DUI cases,  third-degree misdemeanors, local ordinance violations, and dog, fish, and game violations. Judges in Greene County Magisterial District Courts are referred to as "Magisterial District Judges,". The minor courts are the first level of Pennsylvania's Unified Judicial System and are a non-record court. 

Magisterial District Judges decide whether the defendant is guilty or innocent in all cases except criminal cases. In criminal cases, the Magisterial District Judges hold preliminary hearings and determine whether there is sufficient evidence to hold the case for further proceedings at the trial court. 

Magisterial District Judges hear Civil cases up to $12,000, landlord/tenant cases;and  vehicle code violations. The Magisterial District Judges can also perform a marriage ceremony. 

Judge David Balint 
13-3-01 Western District
(Aleppo, Center, Freeport, Gilmore, Gray, Jackson, 
Morris, Richill, Springhill, Wayne Townships and Waynesburg Borough)

144 West High Street, Waynesburg, PA 15370 

Phone: 724-627-8961 / Fax: 724- 627-7134

Office Hours: 8:00 a.m.—4:00 p.m., Monday—Friday 

Staff Contacts: 

Vicki Tanner – vtanner@co.greene.pa.us

Randi Chambers – rchambers@co.greene.pa.us

Judith Rush – jrush@co.greene.pa.us

 

Judge Glenn Bates
13-3-02 Central District
( Franklin, Jefferson, Morgan, Perry,  Washington, and Whiteley Townships
and Clarksville and Jefferson Boroughs)

Greene County Airport, Suite 203 
417 East Roy Furman Highway, Waynesburg, PA 15370 

Phone: 724-852-1440 / Fax: 724-852-5322 

Office Hours: 8:00 a.m.—4:00 p.m., Monday—Friday 

Staff Contacts:

Sharon Eddy – seddy@co.greene.pa.us

Mary Ann Fuller – mfuller@co.greene.pa.us

Sandra Tarasi – starasi@co.greene.pa.us

 



Judge Lee Watson
13-3-03 Eastern District
( Cumberland, Dunkard, Greene, Monongahela Townships, 
and Carmichaels, Greensboro, and Rices Landing Boroughs)

100-D Park Avenue, Carmichaels, PA 15320

Phone: 724- 966- 2450 / Fax: 724-966-8595

Office Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m., Monday-Friday

Staff Contacts:

Doris Peterson – dpeterson@co.greene.pa.us

Kalleen Vannicola – kvannicola@co.greene.pa.us

Michael Gashie – mgashie@co.greene.pa.us



Related Links:


Click here for Court Forms for the Public - Unified Judicial System of Pennsylvania 

To request to have your court costs waived due to lack of funds, click here

To make a payment, click on the link below  & then, click "Pay Fine & Fees"